There’s A Link in My Sink.

And a snake in my boot. And a tear in my beer. Don’t ask me to explain.

Catholic Church in some kind of huge trouble. Pope found to be Catholic.

You know how I know a guy is worth talking to? He doesn’t do this.

Violence, queer and official.

More Pussy Riot! (thanks,

Matt)

To be honest, this all just sounds like more reason to support them.

I’m glad hooking up is becoming more stigmatized, and especially glad that the stigma has become mostly egalitarian. I’m not sure, though, how a fairly abstract responses to a set of survey questions will translate into actual social behaviors and interactions. Something tells me that the real picture is a bit messier.

Eve Tushnet on her work in a crisis pregnancy center

William sent this to me. It’s pretty interesting.

Relevant to our book club

This is why everyone is in love with Emma Stone

Bryce Covert is great, and a much more civil interlocutor than I will ever be

Ok, I’m glad someone else understands, but seriously lady, keep yer hands off my man

Also, where was Rookie when I was in high school?

Two takedowns of this article

Via The Hairpin, I want her outfit and her life. Actually, I’d settle for being her nanny–I’m sure all that cool is catching.

The buildings we live in, etc.

 

 

5 thoughts on “There’s A Link in My Sink.

    • I mean, having a sex orgy in a museum obviously isn’t how I’d stage a protest (anything I staged would probably be much more violent, so there’s that.) But it doesn’t really keep me up at night.

  1. thanks, i was just wondering. i have read a lot of feminist takes on pussy riot, and as a feminist, have issues and agreements with different things, but haven’t much read about the religious aspect of their protest. i’ve been disappointed there haven’t been more/any takes on the protest from a religious perspective that simultaneously does not uphold the state and its actions as sacrosanct.

    • Yeah, it would definitely be worth writing more about. To me, they seem very rooted in the tradition of the “holy fool.” Their approach to religion is certainly marked by tension and angry irreverance, but also a real belief in the Church’s role as a voice of authority equal to the state’s and bound to challenge the state’s injustices–and real anger, almost familial, at the abdication of that role. It’s a radical approach to religion that’s quite incomprehensible to say, Nick Kristof or Madonna or Alain de Botton’s saccharine-and-strychnine attitude.
      I think their closing statements shed a lot of light.

      Are you religious, snowygreen? Just so I have a better idea of where you’re coming from.

Leave a Reply

