Good Night, Links

Read this

And this

Seriously, E.L. James. Stay away from my literary heroines. Also, who ever compares herself to Tess of the D’Urbervilles? Like, in a good way?

You should probably go listen to Sady Doyle’s album list.

This only seems like a good thing to me. It also seems mainly a phenomenon of the middle to upper class. Of note: the subheading “Artisanal Fathers” cracked me up. Also, this line: “Hey ladies–who’s up for some breastfeeding and decaf skinny lattes?” Does anyone actually say things like this? Why are they allowed to live with us?

I was educated by nuns like these . They are the best . Was your school cheer “Live mercy! Seek justice!” ? Didn’t think so.(Although at the time my main reaction was “ughh can’t we just have pep rallies like normal schools?”)

So I get why there is real pain and confusion over the Vatican’s investigation of the LCWR. But what places who spin it as evil repressive Vatican repressively repressing kick-ass sisters fail to notice is that these nuns are consecrated brides of Christ (this, among other reasons, is why when traditionalist types make fun of sisters for their haircuts or pantsuits or lack of habits, you should probably punch them), and most of them take that extremely seriously. Their work for the poor and marginalized is the concrete expression of their love for Jesus.  And when prayer is removed from their lives, or someone starts talking about moving beyond Jesus, it also creates pain and confusion in the community; it injures them and their ability to carry out this great work they do.

Liberals and conservatives: take your stupid agendas from my church and away from my sisters. It’s just more complicated than that.

Pussy Riot has been sentenced to a two year prison term, starting from when they were first imprisoned six months ago. Here are their closing statements. More Pussy Riot.

So Heinous. This sounds like the equivalent of the difference between not letting  a woman throw her baby in front of a speeding car, and legally requiring her to jump in front of  a speeding car so she can die with her baby.

I’m not sure how I feel about confessional culture, except that I don’t think I like it all that much (at least from other people. I love talking about myself), but I think Doyle is definitely on to something about asserting the legitimacy and importance of vulnerability.

I think Lindy West is the main reason I haven’t given up Jezebel.

We all have our thoughts and feelings about Hillary Rodham Clinton and that interesting intersection between “rich privileged white lady” and “feminist icon” she embodies, but you must admit she has the schoolmarm awesome thing down.

bahahaha I can’t wait to do this to some kid.

This is exactly as much as I feel like saying about Helen Gurley Brown.

Via The Hairpin, everything about this is arghh arghh arghh. ARGH.

I wish I could make these into flyers and pass them out.

School stuff

6 thoughts on “Good Night, Links

  1. I’m with you on confessional culture, but I have a thought on the Doyle article. She is on to something in that vulnerability is a necessary and should be a non-shameful part of life. What gives me pause is the presentation of vulnerability – here it is always vulnerability connected with abuse, loneliness, suicidal thoughts, unhappiness. Kara Jessella is being yelled at by her boyfriend. Sheila Heti wants to shoot herself in the face. Lena Dunham is having a panic attack. Fiona Apple had a problem with alcohol. Sylvia Plath and Anne Sexton were mentally ill. Both committed suicide.

    That is vulnerability to being human. Yes, it is legitimate; pain is real. But I don’t think it should be held up as the standard. Positive vulnerability is the vulnerability associated with gift-of-self and is always connected to love, the kind of vulnerability JPII talks about when he says “man, who is the only creature on earth which God willed for itself, cannot fully find himself except through a sincere gift of self.” This vulnerability is also open to hurt and betrayal, because that is the essence of vulnerability. But that is the risk, not the end. The end is genuine communication and intimacy: http://bit.ly/Ptrbyb.

    • I never thought about that—I think you’re absolutely right. This is why the piece doesn’t sit quite right. It’s groping at something true and goes off the rails.

  2. The Doyle article didn’t sit right with me, either. Why were so many of the examples she gave about embarrassing sexual situations those women were in and the emotional pain associated with them? Sometimes I feel like feminists are more obsessed with pleasing men than anyone else, and they tend to see themselves first in terms of their reproductive body parts or abilities. And it seems like the only pain that gets a mention is breakup pain. How about women who have lost family members, or who are struggling to figure out what they want to do with their lives, or who are battling an illness? There didn’t seem to be any acknowledgement towards some of the great tragedies in life that have nothing to do with romantic relationships.

    Personally, although I enjoy a good wail myself (either mine or someone else’s) I’m starting to wonder if the healthiest things for our generation would be to adopt a “stiff upper lip” attitude. Maybe we’d all be a little happier if we didn’t obsess about our own feelings quite so much. Did you see The Iron Lady? I didn’t really care for it in a lot of ways (Meryl Streep always plays herself as Someone Famous) but there was a great line in there where a doctor asked her how she was feeling, if she was depressed, etc. Her answer was something along the lines of, “Everyone now is so worried about their feelings instead of their actions. Don’t ask me how I feel. Ask me what I’m going to do.” I guess that’s probably a real quote that I’m mangling horribly. Homework assignment for the afternoon: I will track down the real quote.

    • “And it seems like the only pain that gets a mention is breakup pain. How about women who have lost family members, or who are struggling to figure out what they want to do with their lives, or who are battling an illness? There didn’t seem to be any acknowledgement towards some of the great tragedies in life that have nothing to do with romantic relationships.”

      THIS.

      Although I’d argue that this a function of a broader messed up cultural privileging of romance and romantic emotions over every other kind of interpersonal human experience.

      Also, I think there is a sexual vulnerability that is specifically female (not so much “oh women are so emotional and just want romance” but “sex involves the possibility that a new human person will start growing in your body.” I think that possibility or risk, no matter how you accept it or control it, does in many ways shape women’s experiences of their sexualities. And I think it’s something a lot of women, not just mainstream feminists, struggle to come to terms with.

      But yeah–to me it was a very tantalizing, frustrating essay that kind of stumbled around the edges of interesting ideas without actually getting there.

Leave a Reply

