Books in Babylon, For Real This Time

So, a while back I semi-seriously threw out the idea of an online book club, and it now seems that someone besides me is interested in the notion.

So, here’s how I think it will work.

1. Send your suggestions for books/discussion topics to clareaddiechristine[at]gmail[dot]com. Yes, we do have an email address, and as much fun as reading our spam folder is:

“Greetings,

 I understand that through Internet is not the best way to link up with you because of the confidentiality which my proposal demands.

However, I have already sent you this same letter one month ago,but I am not sure if it did get to you since I have not heard from you, hence i am constrain to reach you through the Internet which has been abused over the years.

 I wish to notify you again that You were listed as a Heir to the total sum of (One Million Six Hundred Thousand British Pounds) in the codicil and last testament of the deceased.(Name now withheld since this is our second letter to you). We contacted you because you bear the surname identity and therefore can present you as the Heir to the inheritance funds.

 Please indicate your interest immediately for us to proceed. I shall feed you with full details of this transaction upon receipt of your reply towards this proposal.

 All the legal papers will be processed in your acceptance. In your acceptance of this deal, we request that you kindly forward to us your letter of acceptance; your current telephone and fax numbers and a forwarding address to enable us file necessary documents at our high court probate division for the release of this sum of money.

 I look forward to hearing from you.”

we also love hearing from hear from normalish people as well. (Thanks, M!)

I’m just going to executively decree that the first book we read will be Middlemarch to save us from getting bogged down in book choice initially, but from here on in, if you send me suggestions we will read those. Middlemarch is available for free online if your library doesn’t have a copy.

2.  This coming Friday, I will post a few discussion questions concerning things I thought interesting about the first four chapters (we’ll start slow). Throughout the day, it will be an open thread and anyone who wants to can join the conversation–the initial questions/post will just be a starting point, and you can take it wherever you want it to go.  I’ll keep posting a discussion kickstarter every Friday (I’m happy to write them myself, but will also use anything you email me) until we’ve finished the book.

3. I’ll let you know each Friday how far we’ll be going next time–I know you all have lives and jobs, so we’ll do it in small bites. You can be as consistent and involved or not consistent and involved as you want to be. This book club is low stress, low maintenance.

I know this format has some serious flaws (there is simply no way to incorporate key lime pie or other baked goods into a virtual book club, and I’ve been wracking my brain for at least a half hour). But everyone here loves books, and part of the reason we started this blog was so we could talk to awesome people (awesome people means you) about things that matter to us, so please do chime in nonetheless.

Allons-y!

10 thoughts on “Books in Babylon, For Real This Time

  1. I’d be interested in doing this, definitely. I have to admit, though, I’ve read Middlemarch twice and I’m not sure I’m up for a third round. But I could probably Cliffs Notes my way through it until we moved onto something else.

    • Passing over the heresy that anyone could ever have too much Middlemarch.

      Yeah, I just picked what I thought was a good starter book to get us going. Just join in as much as you want until we get through it, and send in a book you want to read next!

  2. I’m in! I’ve never read Middlemarch, though I’ve had the idea that I ought to for a long time. Isn’t that the book that Laura quotes from to convince her mother that she doesn’t need to go to school because she already knows how to read in Little House on the Prairie?

  3. I’d definitely like to join! I’ve also already read Middlemarch twice, so I may be dipping in and out of the conversation as time allows. Great idea though, and good novel to start off!

  4. YES. I have been wanting to read Middlemarch forever, and I missed a read-through last year with some good friends. I am so in.

    P.S. forever indebted to mutual friend Madeleine for recommending you ladies, because you are collectively a glorious beacon in the wilderness of the internet/my blogroll.

    P.S. Sad about the necessary absence of baked goods! What about that fermented bread stuff that can keep for three days at room temperature in the mail? Although giving out addresses may not be the best idea.

    • Meaghan: This is pure brilliance.

      Anna: You know Madeleine?? She is fantastic. Come have a drink with us if you’re ever where we live. (I am not sure why I am sometimes so rash about revealing my location to the internet, and sometimes so needlessly coy.)

Leave a Reply

