Finally, A Co-Apologist

THIS.

I have been trying to convince people of this for years. Ever since my sophomore year of highschool, to be exact.

Now, I love Jane Eyre. Love love can quote whole passages from memory and my copy is falling to pieces love Jane Eyre. But Villette is something else. If you haven’t yet, read it! (I’m assuming you’ve read Jane E, but read that too!)

And, to make things even better, my rather profane comrade in Villettemania references Strictly Ballroom, which is possibly the only good thing Baz Luhrmann has ever made (correct me if I’m wrong, of course), and a fantastic confection of camp, kook, heart, and sparkle. If you haven’t yet, see it!

Victorian novels. Dance flicks. So many good things.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kVIRK_ejlQI

4 thoughts on “Finally, A Co-Apologist

  1. You are wrong. Have you not seen Romeo + Juliet?

    I love Strictly Ballroom, love it love it love it. But R+J is SO intense and overwhelming and bizarre and affecting that I will never let it go.

    • That’s exactly how I feel about Jane Eyre and Villette.

      I have actually never seen a movie R+J adaptation that I liked, but I will put this one at the top of my list.

  2. Well, Clare, you did it- I read the book. It was very good. I always felt that Rochester was a creep and that he didn’t deserve Jane, so maybe my saying, “It was better than ‘Jane Eyre!'” isn’t saying much. I did love Lucy but wondered about some of her narrative, I wouldn’t want to say that she Lied, like the other commentator, and yet, she is not always as forthcoming with important details as might have been helpful to the reader. Like the end- what kind of person am I? Am I a kind and cheerful and gentle reader? or am I hardened to the facts of life and able to face up reader. I read the last page eight times, and I still don’t know which I am….

    • Welp, I’ve done my job here on earth, and can officially retire to my couch and eat bon-bons.

      I know! The fact that she leaves us in the dark–or at least seriously confused–about the most important events of her life…her early trauma that never gets explained, only hinted at.

      We know so little about her, and yet she’s so real. I’ve been thinking about surveillance–how much all the characters are all watching each other. Maybe part of the reason Lucy is so compelling is that she resists this surveillance–she refuses to expose herself fully even to the reader.

      And yes, that ending is haunting. She tells you exactly what happened, and yet gives you this terrifying power to shape the ending for yourself. I still can’t quite put my finger on what exactly is going on…

Leave a Reply

