Mushaboom? Or, “A House of One’s Own”

We all like to rant about how we won’t be forced into restrictive gender roles, how we’re more than our wombs, how marriage and motherhood aren’t necessarily the pinnacle of a woman’s life.

But then there are songs like these, and our visceral reactions.  There’s something incredibly compelling about the picture Leslie Feist paints — the kids, the man, the homestead, the hearth.

Discussion questions!

1) What makes this particular future  so attractive?   (If you don’t think it is at all, tell me why. I can’t promise I’ll believe you, though)

2) Why are we afraid or dismissive of said attraction?

Let’s fight it out in the comments.

4 thoughts on “Mushaboom? Or, “A House of One’s Own”

  1. Dude I’m not going to be finished this translation till 3 AM anyway. So.
    But acdkghsd I love this song. I think because it’s such a compelling human picture. Such a human need for a little, lovely place of one’s own, that questions of gender seem kind of irrelevant. It reminds me reminds me of UP, or my parents growing up–not “this your YOUR box because you are a WOMAN and don’t you dare step outside it,” but “This is OUR box and our life and our shot at happiness and we’re going to work and fight for it together.”

    On the other hand we as women actually make homes with our bodies and so perhaps questions of home have a certain urgency/unique spin to them? Which I think is a legitimate need and too easily dismissed by man-children and mainstream feminists (and I know this because I have three different journals of feminist studies on my night table. Mwahahha.)

    Anyway, another song about home http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2zD-zXZdvyQ. Anastasia best princess 4 lyyyfeee!!!

    Rants and ravin’. Ravin’ and rants.

    • Thanks for pointing out the “togetherness” aspect. Maybe something I overlooked. This song does paint a picture that is the opposite of loneliness, and I suppose no one likes that. But then again, the opposite of loneliness here is still domesticity…?

      I’m not so sure about the whole ‘homes in bodies –> urgency for homes in the world’ idea, though. Not to be crass (okay, a little crass) – it’s like saying that because women lactate, they have a unique interest in milk. Hm. I feel like I may be missing something important here…

  2. I mean, there is something to be said about a vocation to family life, and feeling called to that- even in the midst of rebelling against men (and women) who view us as nothing more than baby- or pleasure- vending machines.

    • Hahaha lactation. This is fair. What I meant was–we as women are often defined and define ourselves as a dwelling place for new life, with all it’s attendant joys and restrictions, which may explain, at least for me, the schizophrenic reaction towards an identification with home and domesticity. But you’re right that it’s a link you can’t stretch too far.

Leave a Reply

